This was the post that I should have done in the 25th of the past October, but due to several problems I had in the last months I didn’t managed to make it. Luckily all of those are now resolved and so I can start to pay a lot more attention to the blog.

I must say I was a little disappointed with Frankenstein since I expected it to be a lot more creepy and scary than it really is. I mean the book is somewhat creepy but not in the supernatural way. I felt that Frankenstein was more a study about human nature and about how far it can be altered and the consequences of that.

I identified myself a lot with young Viktor Frankenstein: he was dedicated to his family, very curious, hard-working and a bit shy. But while completing is project he becomes very introvert, neglects his family, friends, and basically all the outside life. After completing the creature his character is changed again when he realizes the monster that he created, and this time he becomes very ill and depressed. And this is the mood that spreads for the whole book.

I think that the message that Shelly was trying to pass with this book is how much we can change by discovering some of the hidden secrets in Nature and by going to far away.And that some things should remain a secret.  I don’t exactly agree with this perspective though. I think human beings are given the gift of intelligence and that they should use it to uncover the secrets hidden by Nature. Maybe it’s the time where I live, and certainly my education that gave me this view as it probably were these same factors that influenced Mary Shelly’s opinion.

Though I didn’t exactly agreed with the message of the book I have to admit that Shelly did a great job imagining how someone passed from the “tabula rasa” state to become such an evil creature. I also admired the changes that Victor suffered though I do not think he did something so horrible, he just tried to uncover one of the secrets of the Universe.

Basically this book was not what I expected and that’s way I have a rather apathetic opinion of it.

 

