Every Secret Thing (Kate Murray, #1)Every Secret Thing tells a mystery that spans through time and place.

Kate Murray the major character is your cliché beautiful journalist, with somewhat troubled past that starts to investigate a story about a murder that happened years ago, but it was never resolved.

When I started to read Everything Secret Thing I was prepared for a few clichés that characterized this genre such as the beautiful young journalist (see above), the handsome guy,… I usually don’t have many problems with these clichés since I consider this kind of books my comfort reads, but luckily Cole managed to use them without making the book totally predictable. Sure I guessed the killer before it was revealed but I only did that almost in the end.

What dragged me most to this book was that part of it that’s set in Portugal both in the present time and in the WWII era, when Lisbon was full of spies, creating a great environment. Obviously I also enjoyed the other settings, New York and London, but they are kind of frequent in mysteries.

Emma Cole did a great job with the characters, making all their voices seem real to me. The only problem I had with characterization was that Kate seemed a Mary Sue sometimes.

Cole’s writing is good and I liked the way she managed to capture the essence of the places she described.

Sorry for the blog silence but I’ve been really busy.

