Tags

, , , , , , ,

Title: The Hobbit

Author: J.R.R.Tolkien

Pages: Paperback, 306 pages

Publisher: Houghton Mifflin

Release Date: 1st published September 21st 1937

Genre: Fantasy, Children, YA

Summary: Bilbo Baggins was a hobbit who wanted to be left alone in quiet comfort. But the wizard Gandalf came along with a band of homeless dwarves. Soon Bilbo was drawn into their quest, facing evil orcs, savage wolves, giant spiders, and worse unknown dangers. Finally, it was Bilbo-alone and unaided-who had to confront the great dragon Smaug, the terror of an entire countryside . . .

This stirring adventure fantasy begins the tale of the hobbits that was continued by J.R.R. Tolkien in his bestselling epic The Lord of the Rings. From Goodreads

Review

My Thoughts

I’m not a hardcore fantasy reader, so I usually tend to avoid books that I think are hardcore fantasy, and that explains why I’ve never read any book by Tolkien until now. Through most of my life I always thought Tolkien’s books were only for those people who obsess over world building and that spend hours talking in one of those strange languages that are used in some fantasy world; and so I avoided everything that was related to the Tolkien’s world including the movies. So, why did I read it? Well, because I’m trying to expand  my reading horizons and I noticed that  a lot of bloggers that are not hard-core fantasy readers read and liked other Tolkien books.

I won’t lie, I approached this book with fear and thinking that I would not like it, but those feelings all disappeared after I read the first paragraphs. Those first lines, and the way that they were written, resembling some old fairy tale, made all my fears disappear. How could I fear a book written in such a whimsical and lovely way? Seriously, Tolkien’s writing style is amazing, his voice is gentle,sometimes child-like and as I said before resembles the voice from old fairy tales, but at the same time it is funny, down to earth and works really well in the scary moments. Another thing that I enjoyed about his writing was that he introduced some criticism related the behaviour and nature of some of the characters (which inevitably represented the nature and behaviour of some people in the real world) in a very discreet but ironic way. I’m a big fan of authors that introduce satire in their books, even if just in small doses, and Tolkien is a master in it.

I loved the Middle-Earth. Tolkien did a fantastic job creating it, and he knows how to show his creation to us without using long and boring moments of description, something that I stumbled quite a lot  in my attempts at this genre. My favourite part of his world is the Shire, because it seems very beautiful, calm and with a magical atmosphere that’s not so intense as it is in other parts of the Middle-Earth, like in the Mirkwood.

The Hobbit made me change the conceptions I had about some imaginary species like the dwarves, because I always thought they were very hard-working and kind creatures but  after reading the book and  done some more research I discovered that I was wrong  (I need to stop trusting Snow White). Also this book introduced me to other creatures created by folklore that I had never heard about.

Biblo Baggins is my favourite character, he his really funny and cute and loves to eat. He is simply the kind of person that never imagined himself as the hero but actually ends up doing some pretty heroic things, though I don’t know if I would agree that he is a true hero, since in the last battle he decides to hide instead of fight.

Final Thoughts:

In the end I enjoyed this book, specially the voice in which is told, and I will read the other books by Tolkien.

Quotes 

“Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?”

“There is nothing like looking, if you want to find something….You certainly usually find something, if you look, but it is not always quite the something you were after.”

“Surely you don’t disbelieve the prophecies because you helped bring them about? You don’t really suppose, do you, that all your adventures and escapes were managed by mere luck, just for your sole benefit? You’re a very fine person, Mr. Baggins, and I’m very fond of you, but you’re only quite a little fellow in a wide world, after all.”

