Remember when I said I wanted to read a book by every country I’ve visited? Well, here is the list. I just did a small change in that goal. I will read a book by every time I have visited a country.

So here is the first part of the list:

France (2x)

Madame Bovary by Gustave Flaubert – When the book was released it caused such a scandal among the French society resulting on a trial.

Les Misérables by Victor Hugo – I enjoyed the Hunchback of  Notre Dame, so I thought to give this one a try

Spain ( 5x, it was probably more since I live one hour away by car from the northern border)

The Flanders Panel by Arturo Pérez-Reverte –  I heard great things about this one

The Club Dumas by Arturo Pérez-Reverte – I already have this one and the summary is really interesting

Don Quixote by Miguel Cervantes –  I always meant to read this one

Política para Amador by Fernando Savater – I’m going to read this one in Portuguese, or maybe in Spanish, it depends on my mood. I’ve read a YA novel by the same author and I  loved, so I want to see how his non-fiction works are.

Nada by Carmen Laforet –  I have this one at home.

Any suggestions for the 5th book?

England (1x)

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I’m ashamed to say that I’ve never read this one. Actually I’ve only read one book by Austen, Northanger Abbey, and I liked it, so think I should read this one.

Germany (1x)

My Century by Gunter Grass –  From Wikipedia: “Each chapter is only a few pages long and focuses on a single year from 1900-1999. The story of each year is told in a different way, demarcated by changes in time, place, narrator and literary style.”

Austria (1x)

Gargoyles by Thomas Bernhard –  I liked the summary

Czech Republic (1x)

The Book of Laughter and Forgetting by Milan Kundera – My aunt suggested it.

