Tags

, , , , , ,

 Title: Anna and the French Kiss

 Author: Stephanie Perkins

 Pages: Hardcover, 372 pages

 Publisher: Dutton

Genre: YA, chick-lit, romance, contemporary

 Summary:    Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home.

As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited? ( from Goodreads)

Review

My a bit more insightful summary ( Mild Spoilers):

The book starts with Anna saying goodbye to her parents in her new room in a private boarding school in France. She’s sad and angry with her dad, not only because he became different after the success of his literary career and divorced her mother, but also because he decided that studying abroad would be a great experience for her and made her left Atlanta in her senior year, leaving behind her mother, her adorable brother, her best friend and an almost boyfriend into and unknown environment, with unknown people.

Fortunately for Anna, she quickly becomes friends with Meredith that presents her to her friends: Rashmi, John and the fabulous Étienne, that’s the almost the perfect guy (if only he wasn’t so short) with his amazing hair, his passion for History, his chivalrous attitude, his love for his mother, and his British accent.

Anna is quickly attracted to Étienne but she will have to overcome a few trials before she can have the happily ever after with him, if that’s even possible. Besides even if they manage to get together, next year Anna is going to college in the USA while Étienne dad obliges him to stay and study in Paris.

My thoughts:

I wasn’t going to read Anna and the French Kiss. The cover and the synopsis made me remember some awful books I’d read where the heroines were dry, shallow and spoiled but, magically, despite all their flaws and because of their astonishing beauty, they managed to find the perfect lover and have the undeserved happily ever after. I remained with this totally wrongful opinion until all the hype of the book started, and my curiosity made me buy it. And then, after I read it my opinion changed: Anna and the French Kiss is one of the best books I’ve ever read.

Stephanie Perkins makes us feel that we are right there in Paris, next to the huge Notre Dame, or enjoying the view from the Seine. For the ones that have already visited the city, all its essence is transported to the book, so it’s like revisiting Paris all over again.

Another thing that made the book great were the secondary characters that Perkins created. Being a very gifted writer she’s able to create amazing and very believable characters that have a well-defined personality making the story better, because I couldn’t have loved Anna and the French Kiss, without Rashmi and her pragmatic comments, John’s sense of humor, and Meredith’s strong sense of friendship towards her friends

Speaking of characters,the main character, Ana, is the narrator of the book. She’s a very down to earth girl: she knows that though she loves Ètiennne and though he seems to enjoy being with her, she can’t move to a relationship with him until he brokes up with his girlfriend. Anna is also strong, she has a great sense of humor, and she copes well with crisis. She is one of those characters that we have as our role model.

One interesting thing about this book is that Anna is really fond of her young brother. I loved that Stephanie Perkins didn’t stayed with the cliché of the always quarreling siblings it really added something to the book

Final Thoughts:

As I said earlier, one of the best books I’ve ever read, though I’m still not a big fan of the title and cover!

Stephanie Perkins is one of the most promising writers of 2010 and I can’t wait to read more books by her.

Favorite Quotes:

“They left me. My parents actually left me! IN FRANCE!”

“Don’t y’all think it’s kind of a cliché to have a picnic in a graveyard on Halloween?”

“Hey, did y’all hear Anna say ‘y’all’?”

“The Galerie des Chimeres is pretty cool. The statues are half man and half beast, grotesque, fantastic creatures with beaks and wings and tails. My favorite holds his head in his hands and sticks out his tongue, contemplating the city. Or maybe he’s just frustrated. Or sad. I check out the belfry. And it’s… a big bell.”

Extras:

Playlist 

Three Things:

 I liked:

  1. The sense of humor
  2. The writing style
  3. The siblings that love each other

I disliked:

  1. The cover
  2. The summary
  3. Étienne’s dad (seriously, he’s an awful person, I would hate to meet him, but I must say he added something to the story)

